Fifteen projects earn historic preservation awards

Fifteen projects across the city have earned “Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation” from the Louisiana Landmarks Society, as announced this week by the nonprofit preservation organization. This is the first year the group has solicited nominees and recognized projects, although the program continues a tradition originally established by the Historic District Landmarks Commission. To qualify for nomination, a project had to be located in Orleans Parish, but outside of the boundaries of the Vieux Carré, and had to have been completed in either 2012 or 2013. Winning projects are considered to be outstanding examples of restoration or rehabilitation of historic buildings, as well as of new construction in a historic district. Projects slated to receive awards at a ceremony on April 9 the Terminal Building at the New Orleans Lakefront Airport are as follows: Algiers Point: Belleville Assisted Living Facility, the restoration conversion of the long vacant Belleville Elementary School on Pelican Avenue into assisted living, by Woodward Design Group and St. Luke’s Living Center; Broadmoor: Community Greens at Washington and Broad, rehabilitation of four blighted buildings into a community health clinic, retail, offices, and a social incubator, by Green Coast Enterprises; Broadmoor: Rosa F. Keller Library & Community Center, restoration and new construction at the landmark site on Napoleon Avenue, heavily damaged in Hurricane Katrina, by Eskew+Dumez+Ripple; Spackman, Mossop + Michaels; Kulkarni Consultants; Lucien T. Vivien & Associates; Professional Services Industries, Inc.; and Ryan Gootee General Contractors; Bywater: Turn Services Administrative and Operations Complex, rehabilitation of a former alms house, Civil War hospital, and molasses factory and conversion into offices, by WDG | Architects Engineers, Associated Terminals/Turn Services, and Donahue Favret; Bywater: Bywater Art Lofts, the restoration and conversion to living spaces of a one-time garment factory on Dauphine Street, by HRI Properties, HCI Architecture LLC, Woodward Design + Build, Rick Fifield Architect, and Louisiana Housing Corporation/Office of Community Development; Bywater: Rice Mill Lofts, the rehabilitation of five-story warehouse for residential and commercial uses, by studioWTA and National Rice Mill LLC; Canal Street: The Saenger Theatre, restoration of the 1927 theatre, damaged by Hurricane Katrina, by the City of New Orleans, Canal Street Development Organization, Martinez+Johnson Architecture PC, ACE Theatrical Group LLC, EHT Traceries, Schuler Shook, EverGreen Architectural Arts; Central Business District: Civic Theatre, restoration of the 1906 Beaux Arts performing arts palace, by Eskew+Dumez+Ripple, Gibbs Construction Company, the Solomon Group, Harmon Engineering LLC, Mazetti, and Aon Fire Protection Engineering;

Esplanade Ridge: Residential Restoration on Esplanade Avenue of the historic Charles H. Crowley house, by Robert Armstrong;

Faubourg Marigny: 511 Marigny, rehabilitation and conversion to living space of a former hosiery factory on Marigny Street, by studioWTA and 511 Marigny LLC; Faubourg Marigny: The Old Firehouse on Mandeville Street, restoration and reuse of a formerly derelict 1916 E.A. Christy firehouse, by Glen Pitre and Michelle Benoit; Central City, Hollygrove: Renewal Homes, rehabilitation of 47 units in singles and doubles, by Redmellon; Lakefront: Terminal Building at New Orleans Lakefront Airport, restoration of the 1934 art deco terminal building, encased in a white stucco box since the 1960s, by Richard C. Lambert Consultants Inc.; Seventh Ward: Residential Restoration on Elysian Fields Avenue of a long-abandoned double, by Kevin Joyce and Rich Sacher; Warehouse District: Adaptive Re-Use on Magazine Street of a livery building into apartments and retail uses, by KCT Magazine LLC, Trapolin-Peer Architects, and Landis Construction. Represent new design that is appropriate to historic neighborhoods The Selection Committee included: Louisiana State Historic Preservation Office’s Nicole Hobson-Morris; Tulane School of Architecture’s Professor Eugene Cizek; City archivist, Sally Reeves; Historic District Landmarks Commission’s Jim Amdal, Jesse LeBlanc and Elliott Perkins; architectural historian Hilary Irvin; LLS trustees Charles Berg AIA, Sandra Stokes, and Casey Stuart; and LLS Executive Director Walter Gallas. The 2014 Louisiana Landmarks Society will be presented and celebrated at a reception and fundraiser on April 9, 2014, at one of the award-winning sites,. Louisiana Landmarks Society is celebrating fifty years since the Society saved the historic Pitot House on Bayou St. John. Article written by R. Stephanie Bruno. Article sourced by The Advocate